DC to bring Ozzy Osbourne and Megadeth to Dark Nights: Death Metal comic universe

The comic book publisher, DC has detailed its plans to collaborate with seven of the most renowned metal music bands for its runaway hit limited comic book series Dark Nights: Death Metal – Band Edition.

In a partnership with Global Merchandising Services, DC has revealed it will be collaborating with the likes of Megadeth, Ghost, and Ozzy Osbourne, as well as Sepultura and Dream Theater.

Under the partnership, exclusive merchandise featuring the unique variant covers will be made available for fans from both universes. Information on the availability of this will be announced in conjunction with each release.

Representing a cross-section of metal music from across genres and generations, each special edition will feature a variant cover spotlighting a different metal band, an introduction from the band and exclusive interview.

The lineup will see Megadeth take issue one, Ghost in issue two, and Lacuna Coil in issue three. Issue four will feature Opeth, Sepultura will take the fifth issue, issue six will be Dream Theater, and issue seven will star Ozzy Osbourne.

The Dark Knights: Death Metal seven-issue series event will launch in 13 countries internationally in March and rollout throughout 2021.

Dark Nights: Death Metal, from the bestselling team of writer Scott Snyder and artist Greg Capullo, launched in the US in June 2020 and is the sequel to the smash-hit 2017-18 series, Dark Nights: Metal which brought widespread changes to the DC universe and introduced fans to the Dark Multiverse and a runaway hit villain the Batman Who Laughs.

When the Earth is enveloped by the Dark Multiverse, the Justice League is at the mercy of the Batman Who Laughs. Humanity struggles to survive in a hellish landscape twisted beyond recognition, while Batman, Wonder Woman, and Superman, who have all been separated, fight to survive. 

The seven single issues with the Band edition variant covers will be published monthly in eight countries: France, Spain, Italy, Germany, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina and Turkey.

For the Collectors’ Omnibus Edition featuring additional bonus content, these eight countries will be joined by Russia, Poland, Czech Republic, Korea and Japan.