Epic Games and IMG bring global football clubs to its hit gaming IP Fortnite

Epic Games is celebrating global football this week by bringing more than 20 top clubs from around the world into its hit gaming IP, Fortnite, via a series of partnerships facilitated by IMG, Fortnite’s licensing representative.

Starting 23 January, players can choose from 10 different variants of new “Kickoff Set” Outfits to represent their favorite club in-game. Each Outfit can be swapped to any of the 23 football clubs participating, including teams from A-League, Bundesliga, Campeonato Brasileiro Série A, J1 League, La Liga, MLS, Premier League, Primeira Liga, Scottish Premiership and Serie A.

Fortnite players can visit the Creative Hub for an immersive football experience throughout the week, and join select clubs around the world in hosted Fortnite tournaments. Additionally, players will be able to earn or purchase two new football-themed emotes to show off their favorite moves.

“Football is consistently one of the top sports that our players tell us they want to see and experience in Fortnite,” said Nate Nanzer, head of global partnerships at Epic Games. “We’re excited to partner with IMG to bring the sport to Fortnite fans around the world as they face off in competitive tournaments, experience new creative modes of gameplay, and celebrate global football.”

Matthew Primack, SVP of licensing at IMG, added: “We’ve had a lot of fun working with our partners at Epic Games and football clubs from around the world to help bring this unique in-game experience to life.

“This is a truly international collaboration, tapping into clubs from almost every continent and offering fans the opportunity to express their passion for the beautiful game and their favourite team through the trailblazing world of Fortnite.”

The 23 participating football clubs are: AC Milan, A.S. Roma FC, Atlanta United FC, Borussia Mönchengladbach, Celtic FC, Cerezo Osaka, Esporte Clube Bahia, FC Schalke 04, Inter Milan, Juventus FC, Los Angeles FC, Manchester City FC, Melbourne FC, Rangers FC, Santos FC, Seattle Sounders FC, Sevilla FC, Sporting CP, Sydney FC, West Ham United FC, VfL Wolfsburg FC, Western Sydney Wanderers FC and Wolverhampton Wanderers FC.