The Royal Mail to launch Star Trek stamp collection this week

WildBrain CPLG has secured a deal with the Royal Mail for the launch of a new stamp collection based on the iconic sci-fi IP Star Trek.

Thanks to a new deal struck on behalf of ViacomCBS Consumer Products, the new 12 stamp collection will depict captains from six principle Star Trek TV series as well as additional crew members, including Captain James T. Kirk, Captain Jean-Luc Picard, Captain Benjamin Sisko, Captain Kathryn Janeway, Captain Jonathan Archer, and Captain Gabriel Lorca.

They are joined by the likes of Spock, Deanna Troi, Julian Bashir, Malcolm Reed, Michael Burnham and Ash Tyler.

A further six stamps, presented in a miniature sheet, feature characters from across the Star Trek movie franchise, all played by British actors: Montgomery Scott; Shinzon; Tolian Soran; Klingon Chancellor Gorkon; Carol Marcus; and Krall.

The 12 main character stamps are new illustrations by London-based artist, Freya Betts; the images portray the iconic characters alongside reflective details, including starships, in the background of their respective series.

Star Trek was created by American writer and producer Gene Roddenberry and first aired on US TV in 1966. The long-running space-opera has so far produced more than 780 TV episodes and 13 movies.

January 2020 saw the launch of Star Trek: Picard, in which Patrick Stewart reprised his iconic role for a new adventure.