19-song digital and CD release from WaterTower Music and HBO arrives.

Game of Thrones soundtrack launches

HBO is hoping to soothe Game of Thrones fans this week following an emotive TV episode – with the launch of an official soundtrack.

WaterTower Music and HBO launched the digital 19-track album ‘Game Of Thrones (Music from the HBO Series) Season 3’. A physical CD is due to arrive on July 9th.

Grammy nominee Ramin Djawadi composed the score for the album.

It contains three different versions of the Game of Thrones theme – two previously unreleased. 

"Dark Wings, Dark Words" is a downtempo choir version of the theme, and "For The Realm" is a solo guitar version performed by Djawadi.

Other songs include "The Bear And The Maiden Fair" by The Hold Steady and "It’s Always Summer Under The Sea". The latter is performed by Kerry Ingram who plays the character of Shireen on the show. Both songs were heard in Game of Thrones episodes this third season. 

The $11.98 soundtrack is available through all digital retailers, CD retail locations as well as the HBO Shop (www.store.hbo.com). 

Game of Thrones is based on George R.R. Martin’s A Song Of Ice and Fire fantasy novels.

Want to receive up to the minute licensing industry news straight to your inbox? Click here to sign up for the free Licensing.biz Daily Digest and Newsflash services. You can also follow Licensing.biz on Twitter and Facebook.

About Rachael Simpson-Jones

Check Also

Toonz Media Group partners with Leadbelly Productions for Creepy Candy

Global kids and family entertainment major Toonz Media Group is partnering with Leadbelly Productions to …